Introduction: Philip Edge

My name is Philip Edge and I work for CABI in the UK. I was originally a research biologist (the nitrogen nutrition of microalgae), but then moved into scholarly publishing. For many years (first in physics and then back to biology with CABI) I worked as a book and journal publisher. As the internet started to impact on publishing I was involved more and more with delivering published products in digital formats. By the time I came to work for CABI we started to deliver everything, including the CAB Abstracts database, over the internet.

In recent years I have worked in CABI’s Information for Development programmes with a particular interest in information provision to developing countries and how to achieve  impact along the whole knowledge chain from researchers and policy makers to farmers. I’ll be representing CABI at the meeting from both perspectives – as a publisher and information disseminator, and as a development organization. 

Leave a Reply

